WRITER’S ROCK


DSC_0505
I don’t get writer’s block, I get writer’s rock. You can’t really move a block out of the way without some great amount of effort, but a rock, that’s something different entirely. You not only can pick it up to move it, you could probably throw it if you wanted to, but sooner or later, you’d still have to deal with it, and that’s my issue, my point; I have writer’s rock.

Some writer’s sit down with a blank page and write whatever comes to mind, putting thousands of words to paper only to find a few hundred treasures come of it when the final edits are done if they are lucky enough to strike gold. I’ve tried that method and it drives me crazy. In my mind, that equates a waste of time; words written, words lost, all for what? Nothing.

Some writer’s think things through in an orderly fashion, create an outline to work from, typing a rough draft, start to finish, then go back to do massive amounts of editing until they die… figuratively speaking, of course. There are parts of this maddening method I think warrant further review but my brain is too visual and sours quickly from massive editing. After a while, the pages bleed and the words melt together. The end result is no end, no finished story, just a living nightmare. Too dramatic? Maybe.

There are other methods to be sure, I’ve tried various suggestions, all of which had their merits, but to be fair, every writer must find that which speaks to him or her. We are all wired differently so there can only be one perfect formulae that will literally turn us on. So, if Method (M) + give you Happiness (H) = and a Finished Story (FS) result, then congratulations! You found the system that’s perfect for you! I found my M. I was H after I published one FS, so I continued and am now writing my fourth book in the Dark Seeds series, but like the others, I’ve hit my writer’s rock.

My stories run like movies in my head. I experience them and replay them over and over again unless I have a seizure and my memories get erased. This medical issue forced me to find a new formulae and so I broke my story into pieces. Not only did that work for me but I also found that I needed to break each piece down further until I wrote each chapter from start to finish until it was almost publish ready. That’s right, I do not go on to the next chapter until the previous chapter has been edited at least 3 times in a separate editing system I have.

So I can see, feel, hear, and experience my story without a problem but then a rock falls at my feet. How do I start the first paragraph, of the first chapter, of the first page? It’s something that haunts me with every book I start writing. I want to wow my readers and pull them in at page one. Oh God, what do I do? What do I say? What a dilemma! Finally, like all the other times before, I was able to smash that rock last night. It’s amazing how wonderful just a little research can be the greatest trigger! If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it hundreds of times, “Ask questions, but ask the right ones!”

Author: LM Fields

Live, Learn, Leave a Beautiful Mark

2 thoughts on “WRITER’S ROCK”

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted
    to say fantastic blog!

What do you think?

